King of all Wild Things

YAY! Finally posting pictures of Carter in his Halloween costume!!  One of my favorite children’s books is Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak.

As I was reading it to Carter one day, I realized Carter could be MAX for Halloween.  So, I bought him footed pajamas, and then I added the hood, the flap with buttons on the front, a tail, and I cut the bottoms out of the feet and added elastic so he could wear shoes with his costume.   Here is what Max looks like in the book:

And here is OUR Max!!

 

The night Max wore his wolf suit and and made mischief of one kind

and another

his mother called him “WILD THING” and

Max said “I’LL EAT YOU UP!”

That very night in Max’s room a forest grew

and grew-

and grew until his ceiling hung with vines

and the walls became the world all around….

…And when he came to the place where the wild things are they roared their

terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth and rolled their terrible eyes

and showed their terrible claws…

till Max said “BE STILL!”

and tamed them with the magic trick of staring into all their yellow eyes

without blinking once and they were frightened and called him the most

wild thing of all….

and made him king of all wild things.

“And now,” cried Max, “let the wild rumpus start!”

 

This entry was posted in Carter-y goodness, Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to King of all Wild Things

  1. Honey says:

    Ohhhhhh so cute! Didn’t you do such a great job!

  2. Joanna Cox says:

    Dear Carrie,
    So good to hear from you. Carter/Max is adorable…as expected. I am not surprised that you have a great job offer, who wouldn’t want you work for them!!! I have to tell you though that all my life I was driven by professional success, worked hard and succeeded. Now, when I actually have time to smell the roses, enjoy the sunsets, read when I want to, sleep when I want to, I wonder why did I subject myself to the pressures and stress, what have I missed by always rushing, by being so stressed that nothing was truly enjoyable, by substituting simple pleasures of life by material things? I have not had St John suit on since September and am yet to miss is.
    I know you and Chas will make a right decision about the session work and this email is not an advice….just a perspective….
    My best to you and Chas, and bunch of hugs and kisses for Carter,
    Joanna

Leave a Reply

